CGPS Board Meeting Summary – Saturday, March 9, 2019

Attending: Brian, Susan, Joan, Esther, Peter, Frances, Dan, Willa, Moira

We started with an hour long process group which worked very well. Each person had the space to talk about feelings and experiences w/ CGPS and workshop planning and be heard.
We need to postpone  CGPS/Fat Mouth Improv workshop. We expect workshop to occur in summer or fall. We are working out the details and will post soon. 
We developed some new guidelines for workshops: 
  1. From now on: EACH program will have a Program Committee Chair who has an interest in that particular program.
  2. Each PC committee will be determined for a particular workshop and will split up the tasks – CEUs, SRAHEC, food, venue, etc.
  3. There will be a workshop checklist on Trello.


I. Reports

A. Treasurer’s Report
SunTrust – $3200.00

Vanguard – $1800.00 – 6.8% interest.

Moira is going to move $2000 from SunTrust to Vanguard. Board approved.
Policy to keep $5,000 in our total accounts at all times.
B. Scholarship Committee Report
Please look on Trello and be prepared to discuss at next mtg in April.
C. Bylaws Update
We have approved by-laws 2001. We can update as needed w/o AGPA approval. We have a charter and we are a 501c w/ AGPA.

II. Next meeting:

April 13, 2019 – 9:30am on Zoom.

We will discuss CGPS Board retreat plus process group.

III. Meeting Adjourned

CGPS Links –
Please join listserv by clicking the link below.
Google Group – Click Here
Website –
Facebook – Carolinas Group Psychotherapy Society – CGPS
CGPS is on Twitter @CGPSer and LinkedIn

2019 Board Members:
Susan Orovitz, PhD, CGP – President
Peter Millis, LCSW – President-elect
Moira Artigues, MD, CGP, PLLC – Treasurer
Esther Swim-Wright, LCSW – Secretary (graphic designer/workshop registrar/historian)
Dan Darnell, PhD – Member at large
Russ Hopfenberg, PhD, CGP, FAGPA – Member at large
Frances Patton, LMFT, D.Min – Member at large
Derek Easley, MSW, LCSW – Member at large
Brian Clougherty, MA, MDiv, NCC, LPC – Membership/Marketing Chair
Joan C. Seiffert, LCSW, CGP, PLLC – Nominations Committee Chair
W. J. Casstevens, PhD, MSW, LCSW – IASWG – IASWG NC Chapter liaison