About Us

About Us 2018-02-08T08:03:26+00:00

Carolinas Group Psychotherapy Group


Welcome to Carolinas Group Psychotherapy Group

We are a professional organization for those interested in group psychotherapy. Our members are professionals from all of the mental health disciplines, including Marriage and Family Therapists, Psychiatric Nurses, Psychiatrists, Psychologists, Social Workers, Licensed Professional Counselors, Substance Abuse Counselors, and students, interns and residents who are in training to become group therapy professionals.

An affiliate society of the American Group Psychotherapy Association (AGPA), CGPS provides a number of valuable services to group therapists, other mental health professionals and the community at large. CGPS offers training and networking events and opportunities throughout the year.

Our Mission

As an affiliate society of the American Group Psychotherapy Association, we strive to create a diverse, responsive, supportive community that provides high-quality, affordable training and opportunity for growth and development for group psychotherapists in the Carolinas.

Board of Directors

President and ASA Affiliate Representative: Susan Orovitz PhD
Treasurer: Moira Artigues MD
Secretary: Esther Swim-Wright LCSW
Chair, Program Committee: Derek Easley LCSW
Chair, Nominations Committee: Joan Seiffert LCSW
Member at Large: Russ Hopfenberg PhD
Member at Large (South Carolina): Tom Thorsheim PhD

Program Planning

Derek Easley LCSW, chair
Esther Swim-Robie LCSW workshop coordinator
Dan Darnell Ph.D.
Russ Hopfenberg Ph.D.
Mardy Ireland Ph.D.
Deborah Klinger LCSW
Susan Orovitz Ph.D.
Joan Seiffert LCSW
Tom Thorsheim Ph.D.

Nominations Committee

Joan Seiffert LCSW, chair
Derek Easley LCSW

Membership Committee

Tom Thorsheim Ph.D.
Meg Hudson LCSW
Susan Orovitz Ph.D.

CGPS Past Presidents

Dan Darnell, PhD – 2016-2017
Moira Artigues, MD, CGP
Joan Seiffert, LCSW, CGP
Elizabeth Jackson, LCSW
Seamus Bhatt-Mackin, MD, CGP
Russ Hopfenburg, PhD, CGP, FAGPA
Ron Vereen, MD, CGP
Moira Artigues, MD, CGP
Peter Nagel, MEd, CGP
Natalie Sadler, MD
Lynne Clarke

AGPA Past Presidents

David M Hawkins, MD, CGP, DLFAGPA

Contact CGPS